Camp Yeomalt Cabin
Maximum Capacity: 50
This restored log cabin features a large stone fireplace and an open beam ceiling. There is a small performance stage and benches for seating. The cabin has electric lighting and outlets, but no indoor plumbing. Restrooms are located in the adjacent Camp Yeomalt Classroom and are available for use during rental. Cabin also features a small patio area with an outdoor fireplace that is available for use when there are no burn bans in effect.
To check rental availability: 206-842-2302
This beautiful and historic log cabin was originally constructed as a Boy Scout camp in 1935 by unemployed island residents through Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Works Progress Administration. Built of mostly local materials, the cabin served as a scout camp for generations of Bainbridge Islanders. In 1942 the camp was used as the US Army 202nd Coast Artillery’s Bainbridge Island headquarters. At that time a bathhouse was constructed where the Camp Yeomalt Classroom stands today.
In 1987 ownership of the camp was transferred to the Bainbridge Island Park and Recreation District from the Camp Hopkins Youth Committee and the Boy Scouts. In 2000, the camp was renamed from Camp Major Hopkins to Camp Yeomalt Park. An anonymous donor provided funding to begin planning for the park’s future in 2003. Two years later Team Yeomalt, a group of volunteers with expertise in preservation, log construction, traditional building technology, and local history formed when the Park District sought preservation assistance for the deteriorated cabin. Due to Team Yeomalt’s efforts, the camp was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2005. Team Yeomalt then began a fundraising drive to rehabilitate and restore the cabin to its original condition.
The cabin was restored using authentic materials and methods, including hand-hewn Douglas Fir, selectively harvested and then removed from the forest with old-fashioned horse power. Master craftsmen used the opportunity to teach their skills in stonemasonry, log debarking, and cabin construction to volunteers who helped complete the difficult work.
Today this cabin stands as a testament to the hard work and dedication of Bainbridge Island volunteers and the Bainbridge Island Metro Park and Recreation District, who worked to preserve this historic structure. Because of their efforts, Camp Yeomalt cabin is again being used for youth camping and scouting activities, as well as community performances, classes, and educational heritage.
Funding for the restoration was provided by private donors, the Washington State Heritage Capital Projects Fund, the Bainbridge Island Metro Park & Recreation District, the Bainbridge Island Parks Foundation, the Hare Raisers etc 4H Club, the Bainbridge Island Rotary Club, the City of Bainbridge Island, the Bainbridge Island Community Endowment, the Bainbridge Island Arts & Humanities Council, the Suquamish Tribe Article X Community Grant, and the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation.